Bell County Marriage Licenses
Marriage Licenses may be obtained from the County Clerk's Offices in Killeen, Belton, and Temple.  
Effective September 1, 2008, pursuant to the 80th Legislature HB 2685, Section 1, Section 2.013, Family Code, LGC 118.011(a)(7) & (a)(8), LGC 118.018, LGC 118.019, LGC 118.011(b)(1), GC 291.0087(d), and H&SC 191.0045(h) the following fees for issuance of the marriage license will apply:

Marriage License Application with Military Orders to a hostile fire zone as designated by the United States Secretary of Defense (GC 431.039)...............all fees waived

Marriage License Application with Twogether in Texas Certificate.............$ 7.00
(Certificate has to be a Twogether in Texas Certificate to waive the $60 Issuance Fee)
  LGC 118.018 (b-1)  The County Clerk shall issue a marriage license without collecting a marriage license fee from an applicant who: (1) completes a premarital education course described by Section 2.013, Family Code; and (2) provides to the county clerk a premarital education course completion certificate indicating completion of the premarital education course not more than one year before the date the marriage license application is filed with the clerk.

Informal Marriage..............................................................................................$ 32.00
(Informal Marriage fees are not effected by a Twogether in Texas Certificate)

Marriage License Application without Twogether in Texas Certificate......$ 67.00

Affidavit of Absent Applicant for Marriage License  
Instructions for Affidavit of Absent Applicant

For Marriage Skills Workshops in your area, Call 211

Offices are open Monday through Friday at all three locations.   

Killeen Office: (Killeen Annex) - 301 Priest Drive, Killeen, Texas, 254-634-0768 
Office Hours 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. 
(Business Transactions will not be accepted after 4:30 p.m.)
Temple Office: (Temple Annex) - 205 East Central, Temple, Texas, 254-770-6806
Office Hours 8:00 a.m. - 11:30 a.m. and 1:00 p.m. - 4:30 p.m. 
Belton Office:  (Bell County Justice Center) - 1201 Huey Road, Belton, Texas, 254-933-5165
Office hours 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. 
(Business Transactions will not be accepted after 4:30 p.m.)

License Requirements:

Must be 18 years of age or if a minor, please contact our office.
If divorced within 30 days, must have Court Order reflecting that the 30 days are waived. 
Must have identification (preferably picture ID) issued by a Government Agency.
There is a three-day waiting period prior to marriage and after the license has been issued, unless waived by a District Judge or a Certificate from Twogether in Texas.  
Must be married within 90 days from the time the license has been issued. 

Certified copies of Marriage Records are $3.00 per copy.  Out-of-state checks are not accepted.

Please mail your request to:
Bell County Clerk
Attn: Vital Records
P. O. Box 480
Belton, Texas  76513